Author Topic: plastic intermediate gears or metal for mini-lathe?  (Read 24140 times)

Offline Woodsman22

plastic intermediate gears or metal for mini-lathe?
« on: October 23, 2013, 07:20:43 PM »
Hello everyone;
   This is my first post and I am new to model engineering/home shop machining (forgive me if this is not the right forum for this post but I am not sure where it should go). I have a Chinese 7 X 12 mini-lathe which I am converting to metal change gears and I am converting the spindle gears to metal as well. However, from what I have read online many people seem to think that going "all metal" is not so good and that it is best to keep the intermediate shaft gears as plastic. I am unsure of what I should do at this point as I have the lathe apart and have the complete set of metal gears, but if the lathe is going to be very loud then perhaps keeping the plastic gears for the intermediate shaft is a good idea? My primary reason for converting to metal change gears is that the plastic ones are variable in dimension (so I have been told) and therefore threads cut using them vary in tolerance. I want this little machine to be as accurate as possible. Having said that, I note that the intermediate shaft power take-off cog wheel is plastic as well and no metal version of it exists so far as I know. Does this affect threading quality? Please forgive the basic questions as I am a newbie. By the way, I am changing to taper roller bearings as well. I just got the whole headstock taken apart, so before I proceed I would greatly appreciate input/advice from those more knowledgeable than I (which is probably everyone!

Offline Joules

Re: plastic intermediate gears or metal for mini-lathe?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2013, 07:30:01 PM »