Author Topic: Servicing and setting up my lathe  (Read 7215 times)

Offline Bigbadbugga

• Whiston (nr Liverpool)
Servicing and setting up my lathe
« on: July 22, 2013, 01:18:54 PM »
Having been suitably inspired by members on this forum I find myself looking towards doing a bit of turning on my Boxford CSB lathe.

I am very conscious however that it is a fairly old machine with a somewhat unknown history, and although I have used it a few times myself and done some small modifications (motor, reverse switch etc) I really don't know much about it's internal condition and accuracy.

So before starting any projects I would like to check it out, I'm assuming I'll need to check the headstock bearings for wear, the ways, crosslide, leads crew etc.

Is there a guide on here for doing these checks?

Are there any other things I should be looking for?

Assume I'm a complete novice (because I am)  :scratch:
Tools: Boxford CSB lathe, Chester 20v mill, Portamig 185. Lots of ideas, No motivation.

Offline tekfab

Re: Servicing and setting up my lathe
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 02:16:06 PM »
What part of England are you in ? 
Perhaps a more experienced member lives close by and could give you a hand ?
Just an idea !

Mike

Offline Bigbadbugga

• Whiston (nr Liverpool)
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 02:26:43 PM »

I'm just outside Liverpool.

Ideally your suggestion would be best, but in the world of the Internet only a small percentage of members are going to be near me, and only a small percentage of those will have the time to help.

I'm fairly mechanical minded and willing to have a go myself, but was just hoping for some pointers from members who had already done similar checks.

Tools: Boxford CSB lathe, Chester 20v mill, Portamig 185. Lots of ideas, No motivation.

Offline Pete W.

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2013, 02:35:17 PM »
Hi there, Bł,

There's an inspection routine for the Myford ML7 that might help you - some bits would definitely 'read across' to your machine.