Author Topic: Anyone any good at physics?  (Read 8079 times)

Offline Ross

• Ross' steam engines
Anyone any good at physics?
« on: December 05, 2012, 12:34:25 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm doing my apprenticeship in engineering at the minute as a machinist. The course I'm studying at college has a therory part which is mostly irrelevant to anything ill be doing but that's besides the point.

there's this one example question which has been playing me up for days. And I'm at my wits end, if somone can make some sort of sense of it I'd be thankful I do not have a correct answer yet, becuase no one else could solve it! I have only got near the end of the first part still none the wiser.

But if anyone has any pointers of even where to start as it would be helpful to at least try and et to the bottom of it.

Anyhow:

A conical Nozzle has a diameter on one end of 0.5m and 2m on the other. The nozzle is 6m long.

-Calculate the flow rate at midpoint along the nozzle.

-if the Fluid has a relative density of 0.866 calculate the mass flow rate.

Good luck!

Offline mklotz

• LA, CA, USA
    • Software For People Who Build Things
Re: Anyone any good at physics?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2012, 12:41:07 PM »
Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
https://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

Offline David Jupp

• Teesside - UK
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 08:48:02 AM »
On the basis that what goes in must come out, the flow rate is identical regardless of where you are along the nozzle.

There is information missing if you want to put a figure to the flow rate.

Offline Lew_Merrick_PE

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2012, 10:53:08 AM »
I'm doing my apprenticeship in engineering at the minute as a machinist. The course I'm studying at college has a therory part which is mostly irrelevant to anything ill be doing but that's besides the point.