Author Topic: Well I finally made it  (Read 4194 times)

Offline Runner42.2

Well I finally made it
« on: July 20, 2012, 02:52:27 AM »
Hi I am another from HMEM but getting registration here was a PITA*. My interest are steam engines and locomotives. My first project was to build a 3 1/2" gauge locomotive Rob Roy. It took 2 1/2 years to complete. The workmanship was representative of a total beginner having only a lathe and a drill press. Every operation that required a milling machine was undertaken using a hacksaw and files. Making the boiler was my nemesis, in Australia there are boiler safety codes which I was unaware of when starting the boiler and by the time I became aware I had progressed the boiler too far to ever have a chance of getting it certified. I did however undertake my own pressure test and got it to hold 160psi for 30 mins. I have built a single vertical steam engine of my own design from stock materials and I am currently building a twin vertical steam engine again own design and stock materials.

I marvel at the fine quality engines being made by members of this forum and others. I wish when I started Rob Roy I had exposure to these topics, I am sure that the learning process would not have been so steep and the sleepless nights I had would not have been so many. I am more of a lurker than an artisan willing to share his experience and photographs with others. But with experience that may change LOL.

Brian.

The following is just a heads up to the administrator.