Author Topic: Question about chucking a large part in a lathe  (Read 7138 times)

Offline SPiN Racing

• Madmodder Committee
Question about chucking a large part in a lathe
« on: January 27, 2012, 11:16:36 PM »
Howdy gents!

Ok sooo I have been playing with things in the lathe here for a couple years now.. and have learned quite a few little tricks here and there.

My issue I am having today is a methodology one.... I am certain there has to be a better method then I am using.. but I am not sure of it.

I have a 6" diameter disk of 6061-T6, that is 1.5 inches thick.
It was cut on a band saw, on both sides by the metal shop I bought it from.. so both sides are NOT true... but the perimeter is smooth.

SO my issue is.... if I had one side that was true, and faces all perfect.. I could simply chuck it up with that face to the inside.. and then face the back side.. then move to the boring and other procedures I need to do.
As both sides are not smooth.. when I put it in the 4 jaw independent chuck.. I am having a bear of a time getting it centered... and then again just as much of a hard time making sure that its in the chucks properly... so between the two different potential error in alignment issues... Im having a bear of a time.

I have a dial indicator.. but if I get it centered at the chuck location.. its not centered at the far edge. And if I get the 4 jaw centered.. its all crooked.

Is there some trick to this that old school machinists do?
SPiN Racing

Offline Tony Wells

Re: Question about chucking a large part in a lathe
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 12:43:19 AM »