Author Topic: Looking for free drawing program  (Read 12987 times)

Offline saw

• lucky amateur
    • Svenssons AckordsWerkstad
Looking for free drawing program
« on: September 29, 2011, 07:19:27 PM »
I have searching for a simple and free drawing program where a can draw a plan and printed dimensions and be able to print it so that it becomes a working drawing in the right scale.
Today I am trying to do something with eMachineShop, it's a very nice program but I can't printed dimensions and I can't scale it up for printing.
 :dremel:

Offline kvom

Re: Looking for free drawing program
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2011, 08:31:48 PM »
I can recommend DraftSight

Offline BarryG41

• Moana South Australia
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2011, 08:59:35 PM »
I have found Solid Edge 2D easy to use. I have never done any CAD before and tried about 6 different programs and  for me, having done nothing but  T square and set squares  nearly 60 years ago Solid edge was the best.  Must admit I did find the tutorials a  but confusing so gave up on them and did my small amount by drawing lines and circles  as required

Barry G
Unskilled operator having fun

Offline sparky961

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2011, 11:20:27 PM »
I'm surprised to see myself writing this, but free software isn't always better.  I've used many, many software programs to generate vector-based drawings.  AutoCAD, CorelDRAW, Sketchup, Draftsight, SmartDraw, Illustrator, and probably a dozen or so that I've forgotten.

I realize that most hobbyists don't have access to the high end 3D cad packages that are used in industry these days, but most of the time they are much quicker to use to generate drawings that consist of more than a few lines and arcs.  The best thing is that a well designed parametric model (like those made in SolidWorks, Inventor, and the like) can be changed and everything else adjusts accordingly.