Home Base > Introductions

Hi From SBWHART (Stew)

(1/4) > >>

sbwhart:
Hi

I thought it was about time I introduced myselve.

I'm married with two grown up kids

I'm a semi retired engineer, fished full time work 18 months ago working for BAE systems, since then I've been working part time for the same company.

I origonaly served an apprentiship as a tool and gauge maker with the Ministry of Defence MOD, but I've not worked on the tools for nearly 40 years. I took up model engineering about six years, as a hoby. My first project was the beam engine Mary by Tubal Kain

After this I kind of drifted arround macking bits a pieces for friends and making bits for sail on ebay mainly the Minnie traction engine, to build up my workshop kit. My work shop (shed) is 3 meteres square (thats 3ft 3 inch is old money) so its small, my machine is a Chesters 3 in 1.

My latest project is a 3 1/2" model of a London and North Western Railway (LNWR)  Jumbo locomotive to the design of LBSC design.

Well thats me;- the only thing I can add is that I live close to John (bogstandard) and had the pleasure of meeting him and he's a real nice guy.

Have Fun

Stew

vince69619:
Hi Stew,

Very nice work!  Maybe I can produce work like that some day.

Vince.

Bernd:
Stew,

Welcome aboard. I think you'll enjoy yourself here.

That's quite an impressive build for a first time engine. I just can't get over you Brit's putting out such nice work in such tiny shops.

And yes Bogs is quite the guy. Unfortunatley I live across the pond and haven't had the pleasure of meeting him.

Regards,
Bernd

bogstandard:
I visited Stew last Tuesday, and admired that beam engine as soon as he showed it to me. It is even better in real life.