Author Topic: Torque increase on a 7x?  (Read 12620 times)

Offline websterz

Torque increase on a 7x?
« on: May 23, 2011, 11:08:29 PM »
I have seen references to using a smaller timing belt pulley on the motor to increase torque. Has anyone done this mod, and if so, was it a noticeable increase? I started building my ER32 collet chuck today and have had some stalling issues, mainly due to the 3.75" diameter material I am using. Now that I have the metal drive gears and tapered roller bearings I want to squeeze a little more low end OOMPH out of my 7x12. Not being really up on my timing belt lingo I am not sure what to even look for in a smaller pulley. The sites I visited had loads of nice new metal pulleys but they wanted to know stuff like the pitch, hub thickness, etc. Dammit Jim, I'm a machinist, not an engineer!  :doh: Can someone hold my hand and get me where I need to be?
"In the 60's, people took acid to make the world weird.  Now the world is weird and people take Prozac to make it normal."
 :med:

Offline Stilldrillin

• Global Moderator
  • Staveley, Derbyshire. England.
Re: Torque increase on a 7x?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 03:16:39 AM »
Good Question!  :clap:

Me too.....  :thumbup:

David D
David.

Still drilling holes... Sometimes, in the right place!

Still modifying bits of metal... Occasionally, making an improvement!

Offline andyf

• In Memoriam
    • The Warco WM180 Lathe - Modifications
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 04:58:18 AM »
There are one or two speed reductionr/torque increase projects shown in the Photos section of the 7x12 minilathe group ( http://groups.yahoo.com/group/7x12minilathe/ ), if you want to join it. Look particularly at the albums "Belt Drive" and "Trevor's Lathe Mods".

Received wisdom from that group is that the timing belt and toothed pulleys may not be to a standard pitch. I'm not sure about that; this page about a speed reducer http://www.mini-lathe.org.uk/torque_gear_replace.shtml implies that it is standard.

Andy