Author Topic: New Toy  (Read 12326 times)

Offline SKIPRAT

• Gainsborough Lincolnshire England
New Toy
« on: August 17, 2010, 05:59:14 PM »
Well i have finally taken the plunge and bought a milling machine that came along at the right price it is a Warco Minor Mill/Drill i am quite aware of it's round column nature and the drawbacks of this design of machine tool .Reading around there has been a lot of mud slung at this type of machine but for what i can see there is nothing that there is not a workround for. I am no newbie for what it is worth i have quite a few years of production machining under my belt but on the other hand i still am quite willing to learn further new tricks. Back to my new machine well it's new to me it is an imperial machine and it came with the makers cabinet stand a nice 4 inch astra milling vice a posilock collet chuck with 4 imperial collets and a drill chuck some cutters and 4 t bolts the only snag i have at the moment is i have to re hash the shed maybe extend it a bit to fit the machine in.

Cheers Paul

Cheers Paul  :beer:
« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 05:10:15 PM by SKIPRAT »
One Mans Junk Is Another Man's Treasure G6FOW

Offline wongster

Re: New Toy
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2010, 07:02:10 PM »
Hi Paul,

May I know how much you pay for this?  There isn't much options available in where I live and this looks like it can fit into my little apartment.

Regards,
Wong

Offline ilia-45

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 12:25:12 AM »
Paul,my congratulations to the award :thumbup: :beer:

Offline fluxcored

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2010, 09:59:47 AM »
I've decided that my next buy is going to be a similar kind of machine. Stumbled on one at an OK price today but unfortunately I have to fork a lot of dough to do the roofing on my house in the next couple of days.

It seems that you can do a fair bit of work with these Mill/Drills, even in steel contrary to what sceptics say.

Nice buy and all that tooling really makes it a good find.