Author Topic: Intro  (Read 5417 times)

Offline eidbi

• Ireland - Co. Kildare
Intro
« on: July 31, 2010, 05:49:42 PM »
Hi All,
I would like to introduce myself as I have been lurking here for a while. I am mid sixties (age not year) IT guy. I have no training in metalwork apart from a 3 month evening class once a week in jewellery making many years ago. So I have some experience in silver soldering from that time. For about 5 years I made silver jewellery for a hobby. I seem to collect hobbies!

I bought a Sherline lathe about 2 years ago and added a CNC ready mill about a year later and added the steppers, controller and computer myself. I use D2nc for drawing simple shapes/parts and I wrote a wizard to create circuit board adapters for SMD chips to Veroboard which I then "engrave" on the mill. For more complicated things I use TurboCad and use D2nc to produce the Gcode for Mach.

I have been researching Bogstandard's Puddleduck engine which I hope to make over the winter using the CNC on the mill as much as possible. So far I have only been making more tools and accessories for the lathe and mill.

Regards,
Hamilton

Offline dsquire

• In Memoriam
  • Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Re: Intro
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2010, 07:05:23 PM »
Hi Hamilton

Welcome to MadModder. I think that you will fit right in here as there are a lot of members here that seem to collect hobbies, myself included. With your lathe and mill you will have a good start to making small engines and others here will be able to answer any questions that you might have. When you have a chance perhaps you could post a couple of pictures of some of the tooling that you have made for your lathe and mill.  :D :D

Cheers  :beer:

Don

Good, better, best.
Never let it rest,
'til your good is better,
and your better best

Offline Brass_Machine

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 12:56:27 AM »
Heya Hamilton!  :wave: