Author Topic: Greetings from the Asylum!  (Read 4337 times)

Offline Lew_Merrick_PE

Greetings from the Asylum!
« on: June 16, 2010, 06:34:09 PM »
Hello All,

I will be in and out as time dictates.  I currently work as a mechanical design and development engineer.  I started out as a tool & die machinist and "backed" into design and engineering through the latter days of the Apollo program.  About 1/3'rd of my work involves developing prototypes, so my machine shop tends to be slightly more than "hobbyist" in nature.  As a mechanical engineer, 3 years of my education was learning to prove mathematically that Murphy was an optimist (that's the 3rd Law of Thermodynamics for those of you interested in such things).

One of my ongoing "back burner projects" is to write a new mechanical design engineer's handbook.  Some of my writings towards that end are posted at http://www.scribd.com/Lew%20Merrick.  I do maintain a rather extensive engineering/technical library, so feel free to beat me about the head and shoulders when you are looking for obscure engineering/technical information.

We endeavor to avoid having the motto, "Ready, fire, AIM!"  (Pirated from the inside of the spotting shed at Special Operation's sniper training center.)

---   Lew

Offline Bernd

• Madmodder Committee
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: Greetings from the Asylum!
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2010, 07:39:03 PM »
Lew,

Welcome to the collective.  :borg:

I think your expertise will be much valued here at MadModder. My dad was a tool and die maker back from the old country of Germany. Learned a lot from him in the machining area.

Now some of us are reading challenged and need pictures to see what your up to. So when time permitts a few pics in the appropriate area will help us.  :)

Bernd
Route of the Black Diamonds

Offline dsquire

• In Memoriam
  • Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2010, 08:59:27 PM »
Lew