Author Topic: Hello, from a Kiwi in the US  (Read 3595 times)

Offline Sorekiwi

Hello, from a Kiwi in the US
« on: May 13, 2010, 10:38:45 PM »
Hi Guys,

I found this site a few days ago, and have been lurking and reading.  Some very nice work is being shown on this site, and the "how-to" information is great!

I have been an automotive mechanic for 25 odd years, doing my apprenticeship in my native New Zealand.  18 years ago I travelled to Europe to work on racing cars, and after a couple of years in Austria and Germany I came to the US to do the same thing. 

In the beginning, the travel and the new places was the best part of the job, after 15 years or so of airports and hotel rooms, it became the worst part of the job.  These days I am working for a place that restores Rolls Royce Silver Ghosts, and manufactures parts that are sold all over the world.

I'm a hack machinist, I can usually make the bit I need within a thou or two of what its supposed to be!  But I'm keen to learn more.  I have a 7x14 mini lathe at home, and a mini-mill as well.  My other interest is Wheel Horse Garden tractors of the sixties, so the small machines are capable of making the odd bushing or shaft that I might need in the restoration of these.

I'm looking forward to reading and learning from from you fine folks!
Mike, expat Kiwi in NE Ohio, USA

Offline Brass_Machine

• Administrator
Re: Hello, from a Kiwi in the US
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 11:12:05 PM »
Hiya sorekiwi!  :wave:

Welcome to the collective :borg:

I have a buddy that works for a race team... he ends up traveling all over North America. He works for a team in the Rolex sports car series (specifically the prototype class). Got to tour the former owners private museum, a lot of nice cars.

The Silver Ghost is a beautiful car!

What is a wheel horse garden tractor? got pics?

I am sure you will learn a lot here!

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline spuddevans

• Global Moderator