Author Topic: Newbie Here  (Read 3310 times)

Offline jclem40c

Newbie Here
« on: April 19, 2010, 10:40:56 PM »
Hi folks,
Stumbled on this site while on Home Shop Machinist site. Im new to machining so bear with me
please. Retired last year and needed a hobby. Played at machining many moons ago in high school.
No, not a one room school house. was a small engine mech for many years, worked in manufacturing
and then as a supervisor for a highway dept. Now I just play in the shop and now and then do whatever
SWMBO asks so I can eat and live inside, you know how that goes. Got a 9" south bend, a 13" sheldon
a burke mill and a boyer-shults surface grinder, al stuffed into a 12x24 shed. I suppose Ill just lurk
for a while till I feel comfy before posting.

John in New York, USA

Offline Brass_Machine

• Administrator
Re: Newbie Here
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 11:42:24 PM »
Hi John  :wave:

Welcome to the collective :borg:

Where abouts in NY? A few us are in NY (NJ myself though I work in NYC). Sounds like you got some good machines in your shed (shed? it is the size of garage!) What do you build? No need to just lurk... join in. Ask questions. Make comments!

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline dsquire

• In Memoriam
  • Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2010, 12:10:59 AM »
John

Welcome to MadModder John. We are glad that you came to have a look see. I think that you will like what you find. If you have any questions, just ask as there is always someone around to answer or at least give an opinion. It sounds like you have some nice equipment and a fair size shed to work in. If you get the chance perhaps you could post up a few pictures of you shop and some of your projects as I know the members love to see other members work and shops.  :D :D

Cheers  :beer:

Don
Good, better, best.
Never let it rest,
'til your good is better,
and your better best

Offline Stilldrillin

• Global Moderator