Author Topic: Which Milling Machine?  (Read 24756 times)

Offline zeroaxe

Which Milling Machine?
« on: April 03, 2010, 06:38:50 PM »
Oh dear, I am in a pickle....

I got the all clear on getting a new milling machine for my latest addiction(got a lathe a short shile ago too :thumbup: ). But I am in a pickle here as to which mill to buy. I am completely new to this milling business, but am a quick learner. However, I can not make an educated guess as to which machine. I had a look around and there are about 3 or 4 machines that looks about the same on paper...(unfortunately Quantum Germany is out of the question because of the price tag on the 'same spec' machine  :scratch:)

Here are my options:

• First mill ladies and gents is the Chester Champion 16V, like this:

The link can be found here

Basic specs are as follows:

Features:
    Compact, accurate, economical vertical drilling/milling machine.
    Variable speed enables quick operation.
    Spindle is supported by high precision taper roller bearing.
    Gear head provides greater torque.
    Mill head may be tilted L/R.
    Adjustable taper gibs .
    Positive locks for table ,head, quill, column.
    Dovetail column.
    Easy to raise and lower head by handwheel.

Max. drilling capacity                         16mm
    Max. end milling capacity                16mm
    Max. face milling capacity                52mm
    Table size                                        500×140mm
    T-slot size                                        10mm
    Cross travel                                160mm
    Longitudinal travel                        330mm
    Vertical travel                                280mm
    Taper of spindle bore                        MT2
    Spindle stroke                                50mm
    Max distance spindle to table                285mm
    Distance between spindle to column    175mm
    Range of spindle speeds                    Low 50-1250rpm