Author Topic: Spraymist  (Read 27626 times)

bogstandard

Spraymist
« on: November 23, 2009, 07:24:48 PM »
Still on my tuit list, this project definitely needs to be done sooner than later.

I have been using flood coolant for many years, but since my new machines were installed, I have only ever used it on my mill, never on the lathe. This project, if it works, will get me away from flood coolant altogether, and I will make a spraymist unit for the four machines that require it, lathe, mill, surface grinder and power hacksaw.
Having read both good and bad reports about spraymist, I have decided that good far outweighs the bad, and with a little redesign of a cheapo unit, I should be able to eliminate some of the bad faults.

I think the main complaint is that the mist gets airbourne, and soon fills up the shop. I hope to get my systems using very small quantities of air and only tiny amounts of coolant. To such an extent, it will be a total loss system, just a quick wipe up in the area you are working in after you have finished.

Please remember, this is experimentation on my part, and really the results won't be known for a fair while, as I play about with different size and design of nozzle. But what I will be doing first off, should get me a basic working system.

Over the last few months, I have been gathering together all the bits to make the required number (and some). The main parts are the linkline type type coolant pipes. They can be as cheap or as expensive as you want to make them, but I have found that, the really cheap stuff is just that, and only really suitable for fitting into a fixed position, like on the power hacksaw.

Earlier this year a friend brought me a unit back from the US, a nice cheapo job from LMS.

http://littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=2725&category=

Cheap and cheerful, and I suppose it must work, otherwise they wouldn't be selling it.