The Breakroom > The Water Cooler

I'm Fed Up with Electronic Measuring Gauges !

<< < (4/4)

awemawson:
Surprisingly my issue has never been accuracy, the ones I’ve had over the years have never deviated from my gauge blocks by anything significant in a home workshop. It’s that some have just stopped working for no apparent reason. And yes I always remove batteries if they are to be unused for more than a few days.

Muzzerboy:
A lot of the digital callipers take the LR44-sized button cells but are actually intended to take the SR44 cells. SR cells are silver rather than lithium chemistry and have a (slightly) higher voltage as well as less of a fall off as the state of charge drops. Consequently they seem to last a fair bit longer. That's probably not a complete explanation for the poor battery life some have found but it is certainly one factor. They cost a bit more than LR44 (~£1 ea) but avoid the ballache of endlessly changing batteries.

I have a Mastercraft (Chinesium) 200mm as my default that lasts several years between SR44 batteries and a genuine Mitutoyo that seems to last over a year. The Shahe 300mm is a nice device and was good value but seems to eat CR2032 batteries. Luckily you can get those at places like Aldi / Lidl / Pound shops etc.

krv3000: