Author Topic: Water jet/ laser cutting costs.  (Read 6313 times)

Offline S. Heslop

• Newcastle Upon Tyne
Water jet/ laser cutting costs.
« on: March 16, 2015, 07:22:39 PM »
My brother is a welder by trade, specializing in tig, and he asked me a while ago if I could think up something we could make together and sell. So i've been doing exactly that.

I thought it might be a good idea to design some sort of niche woodworking tool (i've got a few ideas) that's constructed mostly from plate aluminium that he can weld together. I also thought that the best way to do this would be to pay a firm to water jet or laser cut the parts, that I can then tidy up and he can weld.

It's still early days but I think the first thing I need to find out is how much water jet/ laser cutting actually costs, and what the pros and cons of each are. My knowledge of waterjet cutting goes as far as knowing that it tends to leave a slight tapered surface. It'd also be handy to know what kinds of file formats they generally accept for the drawings.

I'm aware I could phone some places up, but I don't really have anything to show and i'd be wasting their time. I mostly just want to know what kind of rates I can expect so I can decide if this is a viable idea or not.

Offline David Jupp

• Teesside - UK
Re: Water jet/ laser cutting costs.
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2015, 03:34:56 AM »
Both processes will take similar/same input files - 2D DXF probably most common. 

Water jet can handle much thicker plate, it inputs very little heat so can leave a very neat edge and doesn't alter metal structure at the cut like laser can.  The more advanced machines with multi axis heads can cut weld preps on edges where required.

Laser is both more common and can operate faster - so may well be cheaper for thickness and materials that it can handle. 

For both methods, the price can be influenced by how well your parts nest into a full sheet of material.