Author Topic: Has anyone ever made a Tangential tool holder for the Harbor Frieght QCTP??  (Read 2900 times)

Offline ddoyle

• If it aint broke.....It will be!!!!
I am very new to the sport of machining and first saw a video of this and after researching, I see several people here have made their own.  Until 2 weeks ago I had never touched a lathe :).  I don't have a mill or anything to make such a creature, just wondering if someone had ever made one for that particular QCTP that could maybe post a picture.  Chuck from E. TN is not far away and he has offered to help me out with one, as he has made one for himself, but his QCTP is different from mine so I was just hoping to maybe see a few pics to get some type of idea.  Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2014, 07:55:34 AM by ddoyle »

Offline Arbalist

I only use a four way tool post so can't help specifically with your question. I would say though not to worry too much about tool height adjustment as the cutter is easily adjusted within the tool holder itself. This is one of the reasons I like Tangential tool holders so much. I made a gauge for my Lathe for quick setting of tool height, here's a shot of it in use.

Offline ddoyle

very nice idea....I'll have to keep this in mind...thanks for the info :)

Offline ieezitin

Hi Doyle

You said you have done your research and probably came across all the features this tool offers, making this tool should be a fun and educational exercise for you and worth the time invested in it but be aware this design is not the one size fits all cure for tooling.

I have used the tangential tool holder for about two years now and it sits always on one of my lathes ready for quick work that springs up. One of the negatives I find is sometimes it does not give the best finish on some materials, but then I have to switch to HSS.