Author Topic: Rotary table help or advice please  (Read 7251 times)

Offline murphy555

Rotary table help or advice please
« on: July 28, 2014, 07:37:45 AM »
hi all
       i really need some help or advise regarding rotary tables i am not a very good engineer but i try hard i suppose i am a keen amateur
my problem is i wanted to make a couple of 90 degree plates to angle a table for a sander and also make an adjustable angle plate for use on the mill whilst i managed to make said plates using a couple of cheap rotary tables i also managed to bugger up the gears in the rotary tables
question is should i have disconnected the gears and moved the tables manually i think i probably should have but my understanding was i would be able to just mount the plates set them up and mill the angles required

the material was used was only 3mm mild steel plate for one and the other was 4mm aluminium the slots were only 5mm and 6mm hardly heavy graft the mill is a raglan the tables were bolted down and sacrificial plates were used under the plates
i'm more annoyed at the rotary tables being buggered up
and before anyone suggests i just make new gears like i said i am a crap engineer who can't even screw cut properly
sorry to be so long winded about this but any help or advice would be appreciated i look at all the things and projects everone else submits with a high degree of envy thanks in advance
« Last Edit: July 29, 2014, 09:21:39 AM by vtsteam »
Charlie M

Offline vtsteam

• Global Moderator
  • Republic of Vermont
Re: help or advice please
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 08:41:39 AM »
Murphy, I'm not sure why you needed rotary tables to make angle plates. But perhaps there was a partial rounded section or rounded slots? If working a straight line at an angle, was there a lock on the table?