Author Topic: Apprentice for sure! Hello all!  (Read 5963 times)

Offline ProficientBumbler

• Wichita, KS.
Apprentice for sure! Hello all!
« on: March 12, 2009, 02:28:09 AM »
Howdy everyone. Here is my story:
I am a hobbyist. I bought a welder about 8 months ago & have been evolving from wood to metal ever since. I really enjoy the art of metalworking & have a huge desire to learn & gain experience.
I have been lurking for a while now & have determined this appears to be a good site for me. There is a vast amount of knowledge & experience on here & what appears to be a pretty good bunch of fella's/ladies as well. As a newbie I like the fact that it appears if a person asks a question, even a newbie question they will get assistance & not get flamed.
I bought an Atlas 618 lathe a few weeks ago & am pretty excited about the possibilities this opens up for me as a hobbyist. It was in good shape already, but I pulled apart the carriage, tailstock, & leadscrew set up & pulled all the gears, cleaned everything up good, & oiled it all back up & it works great. I do need to replace the half nut/split nut, & will eventually, but for now a bit of pressure on the nut from a screwdriver makes it work! I have a bandaid!  :)
I will read alot, ask questions when I need assistance, & contribute when I can!
Anyhow, I have talked too long, but look forward to meeting you all & learning from you as well!
Thanks,
Brian

Offline sbwhart

• Global Moderator
  • Smile, Be Happy, Have Fun and Rock Until you Drop
Re: Apprentice for sure! Hello all!
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 02:38:49 AM »
Welcome Brian  :wave:

Sounds Like you'll do fine her as  :worthless:  some pics of you Atlas would be good. We've got some chaps here who can point you in the right direction with that half nut fix. What else are you interested in Steam, Petrol Engines or just messing about you'll have to be carful her or you'll get   :proj:  but the important things is just have fun  :lol:.

Cheers

Stew