Author Topic: Clarkson MK1 TCG  (Read 29857 times)

Offline rotorhead

Re: Clarkson MK1 TCG
« Reply #50 on: July 05, 2013, 04:01:37 PM »
Next 10,

« Last Edit: July 06, 2013, 12:29:24 PM by rotorhead »
Chris
Sunny Scunny,
North Lincolnshire.

Offline rotorhead

« Reply #51 on: July 05, 2013, 04:04:44 PM »
Next few,

« Last Edit: July 06, 2013, 01:08:47 PM by rotorhead »
Chris
Sunny Scunny,
North Lincolnshire.

Offline rotorhead

« Reply #52 on: July 05, 2013, 05:02:04 PM »
Nuff pics for now,

Here's the story, are you sedated or should that be seated?

In 2009 I had an accident which put me off paid work for 19 months.

SOOOO, I bought this Clarkson Mk1 from a tool dealer with a few goodies and in excellent nick(price wasn't quite that excellent though).

I'd wanted one for a very long time, and now having lots of time on my hands I started playing with it....

I'm a bit of a pratt for wanting things to suit my idea of how it should be, without the initial outlay of producing said item...

Anyway, I stripped it, and found lots of casting sand in the base and pillar, especially in the curved clamping slot of the pillar.

I ground it all away using small rounded points in the drill, I made extension shafts for hard to reach parts, and to finish the curved slot to uniform size throughout its travel.

At this point I must apologise to Rob for hijacking his topic, but he and Matt did ask for pics, but the pics without the tale aren't much use really.

I made a new pivot pin from En24T(I used this steel throughout, for everything that I remade).

Started playing with CAD to draw up everything, to get a better measurement picture(it's quite easy to use someone else's ideas really).

After a few attempts at a workable height adjustment screw, I ended up making the thread 16 x 1.75mm to give me 0.125" at the spindle axis, bought the tap (actually bought 16 x 1.75 & 18 x 1.75, just incase).