Author Topic: Oh Blimey I bought a CNC Lathe !!!!  (Read 275301 times)

Offline Pete.

Re: Oh Blimey I bought a CNC Lathe !!!!
« Reply #100 on: April 28, 2013, 02:21:01 PM »
One thing I always wondered is - when you are using this test equipment to probe circuitry, how do you know that a) the power you're using isn't going to damage something and b) your test doesn't find another path and give a false result.

Yes, I'm an electrically/electronically-challenged noob. I had to look up resistor circuits yesterday :)

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
« Reply #101 on: April 28, 2013, 03:30:01 PM »
Well you choose your probing technique to suit the object you are working on. So when fault finding on a 24v dc relay logic set up a 24v bulb is suitable, but when probing delicate electronics, a high impedance oscilloscope probe is more appropriate and remember to take anti-static precautions. Touch an earth before touching any pcb you are working on to discharge any static on you. When doing it commercially I'd wear a wrist band connected to ground via a 1 Meg Ohm resistor and work on an anti-static mat.

As for the other path issue - yes it happens and you need to be aware of it. If you are lucky and have an accurate circuit diagram you can predict the other paths. The circuit that I have for this CNC Lathe is 'largely correct' but I've found a few discrepancies as when it was originally sold there were all sorts of feature options, and different safety options for different countries. Also it had a bar feeder fitted originally, but I don't have it, nor do I have it's circuit so undoubtedly there will be issues there as it was interlocked with the lathes safety features.

Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
« Reply #102 on: April 29, 2013, 12:00:45 PM »
Today started with a bang. Literally  :doh: