The Shop > Tools

Churchill-Redman CUB MKIII Restoration

(1/8) > >>

sdezego:
Hi Folks, USA checking in here.

I'll try not to write a book, but I wanted to formally into myself.  First, I can say that I was truly inspired by Rob Wilson's Cub rebuild :eek: , so that motivated me to post, but don't expect anything of that caliber here :P.

I don't consider myself a "machinist" and don't have 1/8 of the machinery at my fingertips for a lot of what I have seen on this forum, but I have been a Mechanic pretty much all of my life and was a Harley Mechanic/Custom Builder for about 12 years before going on for my MSME.

Enuf of that.  I have been wanting to find a nice lathe to supplement my home shop, and came across a Cub that I could not resist.  Previously, had never even heard of one, but after some research seems I got a bit of a find (especially in the US).

So, after tearing it down, most of the Lathe and gears are mech sound.  Aside from the bushings and 12 years of repainted layers of fascia, it is in spectacular shape.

Here she is as I received her (did receive tail Stock and 3 jaw (not pictured)

Removed the Face plate and saw the build number which matches the Ser# on the Bed Stock

Stripped off the Apron Drive Gearbox and everything looks amazing inside!

Headstock Gears looks equally as nice!

Apron needs new Bushs and a little clean up..

Pulled off the face place and turned it around.  To my surprise:

More to come...

Regards,
Shawn

sdezego:
So, the first aspect that I was able to see any noticeable wear was on the Apron Drive pinion as you can see from this pic below.  The Rack seems to have very little wear.