Author Topic: Warco WM 250 Gone paws up!  (Read 22280 times)

Offline johnthefish

Warco WM 250 Gone paws up!
« on: January 14, 2012, 03:56:42 PM »
Hi everyone,
Bought this variable speed lathe 2 years ago and thought I'd got a good un.... Although I've been in this hobby for years I haven't done much lately due to other commitments. It has only done about an hours running from new. Thought it was about time I got stuck into a project and started to make a boring head. I had noticed the lowest speed had crept up gradually from 50 rpm to about 120 rpm ? Half way through an operation it wouldn't restart, only showed "0" on the readout. No bangs or funny smells,just no go.

I've read through similar threads but after loads of good advice the problem hasn't been resolved (unless i missed it). I'm not looking forward to gazing at the innards because i'm not good at experimenting with things electrical.

No one's mentioned an inverter ..    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HP-MOTOR-1HP-DIGITAL-INVERTER-PACKAGE-REMOTE-POD-MYFORD-BOXFORD-LATHE-/380402141319?pt=UK_BOI_Industrial_Automation_Control_ET&hash=

A bit pricey but would sort the problem,wouldn't it ?

Hope someone has a simple (read cheap) answer because its gone awfully quiet here,just when I was getting going again.

Thanks, John

Offline Jonny

Re: Warco WM 250 Gone paws up!
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 05:00:59 PM »
Does the spindle start when giving it a spin?

Offline johnthefish

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2012, 05:36:22 PM »
Jonny, yes it does. Just been out to try it. Took 2 or 3 spins by hand,and off it went.  :) Thank you very much. Starts every time now (without spinning by hand). The lowest speed is still high though.Seems you might have an idea what is wrong with it..capacitor? As if I would know  :scratch:

Offline raynerd

• Madmodder Committee
    • Raynerds Projects - Raynerd.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2012, 07:47:55 PM »