Author Topic: Newbish  (Read 3947 times)

Offline SPiN Racing

• Madmodder Committee
Newbish
« on: December 24, 2008, 06:04:00 AM »
Hello all,

I am new to the board, I "came over" from Practical Machinist sorta.. or possibly Steve Bedair's site.

Im married with two teen boys, and too many cars for my house. (no im not giving them away)

Been making and building things since... well I made a biplane from 4x4s and 2x6s at 6. Models, R/C aircraft, rockets the works from there. College for Aviation. Commercial Pilot. BUT work as a Network Admin. (Thanks Eastern Airlines for Closing right before I graduated)

When not doing my "Real" job (mon-wed) I work on the cars, and or projects in my small garage. 28x32, and two stories. My wife (love her forever) let me build it, and its actually TWICE the sq ft of our house, and towers over it.
I also do fabrication, and one off work for a local race shop that manufacturers F500 race cars, and takes in special projects that I do for them. (Engine swap in a Lotus Motorsports Elise with a modified K20 Honda)

I always had been fascinated with Lathes and Mills.. but never had either. SO I was forced to make do with files, hack saws, sanders, drill press, the works. Made some really interesting thigns over the years, and then started using the mill and lathes of the race shop I work at on weekends.

Couple years ago I finally bought my own Lathe, a http://www.wttool.com/product-exec/product_id/14795/nm/11_x_26_Lathe_With_Stand_WT_Import_ Wholesale Tool 11x26. Which I found to be lacking in a LOT of features the 1950s lathe I had been using had. But didnt know I was missing them.
Upgraded a couple things.. quick change tool post that it came with "swapped" out for a Phase II style.
Made a ball turner
Made a variety of stuff on the lathe and realised I was lacking a Mill.

Convinced my wife that waiting for TWO WEEKS to get a bellhousing milled slightly, and drilled precisely, was retarded.
So she let me buy a Mill  :thumbup: