Author Topic: drilling small offsize hole...  (Read 5186 times)

Offline jfernsler

drilling small offsize hole...
« on: November 30, 2010, 09:51:03 AM »
Hey everybody, I'm sure this is machinist 101, but I'm still pretty new to the whole thing. I'm attempting an engine build and there's one friction fit part, axle to a pulley. The plans call for a 2.9mm hole, however my metric drill set is .5mm increments and I'm curious as to how I get that size precisely? Is this a case where I need to make my own reamer? Or should I just modify the plans a bit and turn the axle down to fit a 2.5mm hole?

Thanks!

-jeremy

Offline picclock

Re: drilling small offsize hole...
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 10:21:41 AM »
What diameter is the axle ?. If you are turning down from a larger size for the axle, drill the pulley 3mm and turn that part of the shaft down to be an interferance fit.

As far as I know 2.9mm is not a standard shaft size. It's possible to get drills in 0.1mm increments, but its always best to turn the shaft to fit. Most metric tapping drills are specified in tenths of a mm.

Best Regards

picclock
Engaged in the art of turning large pieces of useful material into ever smaller pieces of (s)crap. (Ferndown, Dorset)

Offline Lew_Merrick_PE

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 12:07:18 PM »
Hey everybody, I'm sure this is machinist 101, but I'm still pretty new to the whole thing. I'm attempting an engine build and there's one friction fit part, axle to a pulley. The plans call for a 2.9mm hole, however my metric drill set is .5mm increments and I'm curious as to how I get that size precisely? Is this a case where I need to make my own reamer? Or should I just modify the plans a bit and turn the axle down to fit a 2.5mm hole?