Author Topic: Appropriate lathe?  (Read 7446 times)

Offline rvt

Appropriate lathe?
« on: March 28, 2010, 09:29:30 AM »
Hello,

I'm looking for a small lathe for some metal work, details on previous thread[/ulr].

<snip>
a lathe to machine 4-5mm (roughly) off a camera lens adapter, as it is to thick. Not being a machinist myself, I am told it could be faced off in the lathe, the outside diameter (one example, they vary slightly) is (62 mm) and is (49 mm) inside and they are generally made out of quite soft metals, often brass. The adapter, excluding the mounting ring, is 10mm thick.
<snip>

I'm not sure if my uncle might have something lying around in an old garage yet, but anyway, would this ? be appropriate? I can't spend a great deal of money on it, but then it's not a very demanding task. Would I be able to fit the adapter straight onto the lathe listed above or would i need a different chuck?

Thanks for your time.

p.s. yes that's the cheapest I could find ! Are there any second hand sales on this website?

Offline andyf

• In Memoriam
    • The Warco WM180 Lathe - Modifications
Re: Appropriate lathe?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 11:11:02 AM »
I'm sure it would do the jobs you describe just fine. It's a pretty basic machine, made to compete with the little Unimat lathe, and some examples are not of brilliant quality. Here it is at £191 inc. carriage from Arc Euro Trade, which is, like Axminster, a reputable dealer:
http://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/Catalogue/Machines-Accessories/Lathes/C0-Baby-Lathe
There's a link on that page to a review, which I've read. It might be a bit too enthusiastc.