Gallery, Projects and General > How to's

Single point threading on the lathe

(1/9) > >>

spuddevans:
Ok, I ( foolishly ) said I would put up a post on how I do single point threading on the lathe. To start off with let me say that this is just how I do it, there are many who are more experienced / qualified than I am, and I am really hoping that they will all chime in with their insights and experience.

I have just a (relatively) small lathe, a Sieg C2, and depending on the size and rigidness of your lathe you may be able to take deeper cuts than me ( or you might have to take shallower ).

I'll start of by apologising if it comes across like I'm speaking like you are all are beginners, I dont mean to patronise, it's just that I am still learning and this is how I understand all this. This isnt "The" idiot's guide, it's just "This" idiot's guide.  :lol:

The 1st thing to do is to mount and prepare (bring to size) the material you want to thread. In this example that I am demonstrating I will be cutting a M6 thread on a part for my Paddleducks build. On this part the threaded section is quite short, only about 3.2mm long, but if you are wanting to practice single point thread cutting I'd suggest threading about 5-10mm length of whatever thread you choose.

So to start off with, here's what my material looks like with the end section turned down to the required size ( easy for the metric system as M6 is 6mm diameter, I prefer to go a little under 6mm, about 5.85-5.95mm as it makes for an easier fit. )

The next stage is to make a little groove where you want the thread to end. Unfortunately I dont think there is a way to single point a thread all the way up to a shoulder, so we need to make a groove for the tool to stop at the end of each pass. All you need to do is grind up a tool to look something like this.

Just grind it up to whatever width that you want the groove to be.

So now you can make the groove at where the thread will end.