Author Topic: New (to me) Lathe - Smart & Brown 1024  (Read 8099 times)

Offline Charles

New (to me) Lathe - Smart & Brown 1024
« on: June 19, 2017, 05:29:56 PM »
I started out in the world of machine tools with a Myford Super 7, lovely machine, but I soon realised it wasn't man enough for what I wanted to do, so I started looking around for an old, preferably English toolroom lathe. Almost by accident, I acquired a smart and Brown Model A, which is fantastic - a far better lathe than I am a machinist... But I've kinda been hankering after its big brother so when one appeared on the Yahoo group for a very acceptable price I couldn't really say no...

The good news is it was cheap, local and almost complete... The not so good news is it's in bits, there's no toolpost, it was taken out of use in its former life because the power feed wouldn't engage/disengage reliably, and its 3 phase.

So, the to-do list:
Rebuild the apron, fixing the power feed problem on the way,
re-make the cover for the apron (unless it turns up in the meantime)
clean it
repair / rebuild the coolant tray which has rusted through
strip the wiring out and make it run from an inverter
find a toolpost
put it all back together

I found a small single phase pump in a skip the other day which looks like it might do duty for the coolant, so that's one job ticked off already! the rest will have to wait a few weeks as the dairy is pretty full...

In the meantime, some questions...
can anyone identify the mystery tool holder? could be yours if you can use it...
The lathe came with some tool holder's, I believe they fit a T2 QCTP, they are stamped Colchester. does anyone has a toolpost to fit that they could be parted from, or would they like to acquire them?