The Shop > CNC

3d printing - which software?

<< < (3/4) > >>

Brass_Machine:
I will be different here...

I run Alibre for my CAD design. Have been using it for over a decade. I have no complaints with it.

I use Cura for a slicer but I am not happy with it. Going to try pursa3D. Been playing with superslicer a bit.

Eric

ddmckee54:
When I first started 3D printing several years ago I had a problem with the first printer I ordered, it NEVER arrived - long story.  Anyway, while I was waiting for my printer to arrive I started playing with slicing software.  I would download 3D models of anything and everything, slice them using both Cura and Slic3r, then run them on a 3D printer gcode simulation software that I found, I don't remember the name of it but if you Googled 3D printer gcode simulator you could probably still find it.

What I found was that Cura seemed a little easier to use, but would sometimes miss the support for overhangs or features that would be impossible to print without support, like a corner in mid-air.  Slic3r always seemed to be able to catch these features.  For several years I used Slicer, and the Prusa version of Slicer, but I hated the way that that they did the support making it very hard to remove.  When using Slic3r I would go to great lengths to AVOID using support, I would sometimes put in a diaphragm that was only 1 or 2 filaments wide in areas that needed support and then cut them out later.