Author Topic: seeking advice on milling 3/4 in plywood  (Read 3623 times)

Offline hogman

seeking advice on milling 3/4 in plywood
« on: October 30, 2020, 08:02:44 AM »
Hi fellas,
I am new to cnc. I run a woodshop that makes a chair. I sell chairs at art shows. Each chair has 70 pieces of 3/4 ply stack laminated. I did this by hand and to sculpt curves I started with a 5 hp grinder using 16 grit and moved up to the finish.
My objective is to cut out 90 % of prefinish grinding and sanding out. I have cut very nice parts to date.

I made my machine. I just upgraded Z for more rigidity. Table is 48 by 48. spindle is 3.5 hp.

My issue is RPM of spindle. Calculators tell me that for ply using a 2 flute end mill speed is 3000 for 100 in per minute feed.

My machine chokes on this. I run 17500 and cuts are good without burn. But this bothers me due to discrepancy. I use fusion 360 cam and adaptive clearing does not give me option to cut in small steps down.

I use 5/16 and 1/2 inch ball end mill. I dont need speed of feed. I can go slower if advised to. Please tell me how to do this if you will.
thank you, JR

Offline philf

Re: seeking advice on milling 3/4 in plywood
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2020, 05:09:13 PM »
Hi Hogman,

For metal cutting I use FSWizard ( https://zero-divide.net/?page=fswizard )to calculate feeds & speeds. I have no experience in cutting wood on a CNC.

Selecting wood (no plywood option in the free version) with a 5/16" ball ended cutter (carbide) and 0.5" depth of cut it suggests 10,039 rpm and a feed rate of 178 in/min. (1.71 HP). With 0.25 DOC it recommends 8,816 rpm with 163.2 in/min (1.28 HP)

For a 1/2" cutter and 0.5" DOC the spindle speed reduces to 5,596 rpm and the feed recommended is 109 in/min. (Spindle power 2.61 HP).

These figures are for taking full width cuts.