Author Topic: Back and a Thank you...  (Read 5281 times)

Offline SPiN Racing

• Madmodder Committee
Back and a Thank you...
« on: December 17, 2019, 09:39:12 PM »
Hello all...

Sooo Im back.. been a long while.
So for those that dont remember me or know me... (no I didnt post a lot) I was a Server Administrator.. who bought a Bridgeport and a lathe. And learned all my fundamentals here. Learned a world of core things that are now second nature.
Learned that a lot I was doing wasn't working with HSS.. because I was turning Surgical Stainless and other silly metals..
I made a lot of tools and items people made here.. and still use them today.
I still semi-regularly use my Division Master. LOVE IT.. and its great to impress friends who know what is what.

After a layoff, and my Fathers passing.. a change to IT Director at a regional company. Kids in high school and college moving out etc etc.

Finally at 52.. I decided I am tired of being the IT guy.. and wanted to make a world less money, but enjoy going to work.

SO... I casually looked around.. and ended up becoming an apprentice Mold maker.  Soooo yeah. At 52. I am designing molds in Solidworks (Already had skills but not in teh application) and creating toolpaths in Mastercam, (have it already for my mini CNC I have).. and spending a WORLD of time hand fitting and polishing mold cores, doing EDM work.. creating carbon cores, and burning wiring and making a world of things.
The shop I work at repairs and creates new molds for the industry. and we modify a lot of molds people already have.

Things I thought I knew... a Thou is close enough... BZZZZT.  Now at work I am working to tenths and hundredths all day.
A grinder isn't some thing on a pedestal.. its a 6 decimal place precision tool that I had no clue of how magical they could be LOL..