The Shop > CNC

camshaft machining

(1/3) > >>

Gadabout:
Hi, I am building the Seal 15cc 4 cylinder engine and want to machine the camshaft on my small cnc mill, The machine has a fourth axis (A) and knee and spindle axis's as well as x and y. I have drawn the two cam profiles( inlet and exhaust) in Solidworks(2001) and have featurecam 5 for cam and mach3 , but I can not get my head around how to get the gcode for the machining of the cam profiles, was thinking of the camshaft axis parallel to the x axis and either using the spindle axis or the knee one for z movement, I think I can hand program the rest of the movements to get the cams in the correct orientation. can anyone help me with what I need to do please as I am not too good at this!!
thanks
Mark

djc:

--- Quote from: Gadabout on August 06, 2019, 05:07:01 PM ---The machine has a fourth axis (A) and knee and spindle axis's
--- End quote ---

When you say knee and spindle axes, do you mean knee and quill or knee and rotary axis?

I assume if you are outside the cam, it is at every point concave (i.e, you can put a straight edge on it and it will touch at one point only).

Can you post a dimensioned drawing of a typical cam profile? Is it made up solely of circular arcs?

Use the centreline of the cam as your datum. Pick an arbitrary point as your zero rotation. Measure the distance from centre of cam to outer edge. Write it down. Rotate one degree. Repeat. You will get a list of 'coordinate pairs' of angle and Z-height above centre.

Set cutter clear of work. Drop down to Z-height, move in X until cutter is clear of work. Move A-axis one increment on your coordinate pair list, move to new Z-height, move in X until clear of work. Repeat. The smaller the A-axis increments, the smoother your cam will be. If you can define it mathematically, so there is a formulaic connection between A and Z, you can use a spreadsheet to do a lot of the coordinate pair calculation for you.

Gadabout: