Author Topic: 3D Mouse.  (Read 10096 times)

Offline John Stevenson

• In Memoriam
  • Nottingham, England.
3D Mouse.
« on: October 31, 2016, 07:41:37 PM »
Decided I need to be dragged screaming into the 20 century so going to have a look at Fusion 360 as a 3D CAD program.

Asking one question only, so please note and read.

Any advise on a decent mouse to use ? USB preferably as the keyboard is wireless.

Currently using a Logitech track ball which is nice as I'm used to it but it doesn't scroll or rotate.

Answers from Fusion 360 users will obviously be of more use to me.

Thanks.
John Stevenson

Offline Imagineering

Re: 3D Mouse.
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2016, 03:14:23 AM »
I have been using this one for around five Years now ...

http://www.3dconnexion.eu/products/spacemouse/spacenavigator.html

My learning curve was a bit slow until someone suggested to me to ignore the 3D Mouse and just imagine that I have my Hand grasping the on-screen Object. I am not a Fusion 360 user, but have been using it with Autodesk Inventor 2011 & 2016. I have had minor use of it with Revit as well.
It performs so well, and has become such an extension of my left Hand, to the extent that I find I instinctively grab for it when using Programs that should, (but don't), utilise it.

Offline David Jupp

• Teesside - UK
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2016, 04:38:58 AM »
Re the Logitech trackball - the models do vary, one I used had a button to select 'scroll' (then use ball to scroll).  I don't recall now if that was a default function, or if I programmed it using the Logitech control panel.

In CAD, Pan & Rotate/Orbit are usually selectable from menu/toolbar - so if you have spare buttons available it should be possible to configure these to allow you to quickly change function without taking hand off the trackball.