Gallery, Projects and General > Project Logs

Elmers #25, my first engine project

<< < (2/20) > >>

sbwhart:

--- Quote from: spuddevans on May 09, 2009, 02:49:32 PM ---

The plans say it should run on 5-10psi, so I should be ok as my compressor will put out 115 psi  :bugeye: "Oh yes, it wiill run!!"

Tim

--- End quote ---

At 115 psi it'll take off  :lol:

Stew

spuddevans:

--- Quote from: bogstandard on May 09, 2009, 02:50:48 PM ---Tim,

I thought you were an absolute beginner.

Methinks you are telling a few porkies. Some of the techniques and clamping procedures you used are usually the sign of someone with some experience behind them.

--- End quote ---

I'm not far off being a total newbie, my sum total metalworking experience is made up of making a very crude version of a ball turner, and then making this,

for my better half's mobility scooter to give better illumination. ( i figured on some browney points for doing my first project for my better half :med: )That took me about 2-3 months and was mostly lathe-work and just finished it this week.

As to the clamping methods and any other techniques I use, I must confess to stealing borrowing them from others such as yourself who do so many wonderful writeups. I have been avidly studying this and the other forum and every other machining website for at least 12 months before I got a workshop set up. I like to read how others do things and try to emulate them.

My only other experience is with woodturning, I've been turning wood for about 7-8 years, but as I've found out, wood is a completely different kettle of fish.

Tim

Darren:
In that case I feel you are going to become a very competent metal basher cos that's some good work you are turning out there  :thumbup:

Divided he ad:
Nice start Tim  :thumbup:
So how do you turn a kettle of fish with out losing the water and the fish?   :lol:

Wood turning... Now there's a missing section in the postings..... When you're ready  :whip:   :ddb: