Home Base > Introductions

Better late than never.

(1/4) > >>

websterz:
Sorry I am just now getting around to my intro post. I am the type who just jumps in and gets busy...sorry to have overlooked this courtesy.

My name is Todd. I go by websterz on most forums, people usually call me webs or webby. I am a 40 year old married father of one, a beautiful 8 year old young lady named Jessica. My wife Angela is a teacher. I am a machinist by trade, conventional lathes, mills, drills, and grinders mostly. I did a 2 year tour on a Fanuc CNC mill and it damn near ruined me as a machinist. I won't do that again.  :borg:

Back in February I was laid off from my job of 9 years and it's not looking like there will be a callback. Things around here (Northern Oklahoma) are getting pretty bad job wise. I have decided to put my time and energy into building up my little hobby shop and trying to make a buck doing what I love. Mostly I work with military surplus firearms, collectible stuff that is hard to find parts for. Currently my shop consists of a 7x12 mini lathe, a Seig x2 mill, and a Gallmeyer & Livingston 6x18 hydraulic surface grinder that I have been restoring. In fact I just finished roughing in the new mag chuck tonight. I'll let 'er cool down overnight and take 2 or 3 tenths off with a finish stone and put the old gal to work!  :ddb:

I have fun modding my equipment, lately I have been on a roll getting my lathe up to snuff. I still have about a dozen more projects waiting in the wings for the lathe and mill. I don't want to have all my fun at once so I am moving a bit more slowly now. I really enjoy the site here and want to thank everyone for making me feel like one of the guys. I hope I am able to give as well as I have received so far.

:mmr: :nrocks:

Todd

Bernd:
Ok Todd,

Here's the official welcome then.

Welcome to Madmodder and as you already know it's a fun place.  :mmr: