The Shop > Software Tools

cad softweare

<< < (2/4) > >>

Lew_Merrick_PE:
Richard,

I have been using CAD tools since 1971.  I currently go back-and-forth among: CREO/ProEngineer, Geomagic Design, NX, SolidEdge, and SolidWorks (depending on what my customer demands).  The question is, What do you want/need to accomplish?

I admit to being a partisan for Geomagic Design.  It is, relative to the other programs I named, inexpensive, simple to use, easy to customize, and more powerful than most people realize.  On the downside (which is true of all CAD products), it has not really caught up with the nature of (mechanical) design development in recent years.  The greatest "issues" with it is that many otherwise wonderfully conceptual tools get tossed in without the deliberation they deserve and then are not brought back up to polish them to fit.  [This may be said of most CAD products as well.]

On the other hand, were price no object whatsoever (yeah, sure, you betcha), SolidEdge would be my personal choice.  [Just to be clear.]

As I said, the question is, What do you want/need to accomplish?

tramp92:
I know it is expensive but Solidworks would be my choice. I appreciate the software can seem pedantic to say the least when you start but after a while the reasons for it become clear. It is all about the actual intent of the design, not just modelling it.

I did have quite a play with the free version of PTC Creo. That seemed to work well.

John Stevenson:
I read the original poster as needing something simple like Cut2D ?
In which case simple usually goes with cheap so anyone offering Solid Works as advise is on to a hiding.

If the OP wants 2D CAD which contrary to popular opinion and regurgitated again and again, 2D CAD is still alive and kicking and for many things like a quick toolpath is far quicker than doing a model them getting the drawing off the model.

Plenty of free 2D programs out there, Draftsight and the solid edge 2D version is also free.