Author Topic: Hello from Oregon  (Read 4759 times)

Offline rockknocker

Hello from Oregon
« on: September 24, 2013, 06:02:27 PM »
Hello all! I'm glad to join this community, some of the projects here are awe-inspiring! I can only hope that some of mine get finished!

About me: I'm a mid-twenties electrical engineer with a wife and one kid living in the beautiful Oregon countryside. My interests include RC flying, engines, electronics, woodworking, and taking things apart. I've read many forum posts and articles from home machinists and fabricators but have never been able to "join the club" until recently when we moved to our new house with a small shed on the property. I grew up on a farm so I have working (but rusty) skills in welding, fabricating, and mechanics. My job allows me to dabble in the mechanical side of things when I'm done with the electronics, so I have been able to do a small amount of mechanical design and machining there as well. I have several projects that need to be tackled, including but not limited to:
* Turning my new shed into a workshop.
* Restoration of a 1919 model 'T' Ford willed to me by my grandfather.
* Refurbishing of a half-dozen 22+ inch LCD monitors that were given to me. Most of them should come back to life after capacitor replacement.
* Various wood projects for my wife including drawer dividers, a removeable formica tabletop, and a fireplace mantle.
* Something to make all of the plastic baby food containers my daughter goes through more useful. Got a few ideas...

My tools currently include:
* 7"x10" MicroMark metal lathe
* Borrowed Craftsman wood lathe
* Bench-top band saw
* Portable arc welder
* Various power and hand tools

I'm scouring yard sales to get some more essentials such as a bench grinder, drill press, and table saw. A cutting/welding torch and vertical mill are on the long list as well!

I'm looking forward to collaborating with you all!
Anything is possible when you forget what's impossible.

Offline micktoon